Join the Neopoet online poetry workshop and community to improve as a writer, meet fellow poets, and showcase your work. Sign up, submit your poetry, and get started.

AEC Term Length

This is for public discussion of the current proposal to increase term length from 3 months to 6 months. We would like your comments on the proposal itself, and on how this should be implemented (i.e., however members might be replaced if they are unable to carry out their full term).

I've had a lot of experience on the AEC, from the first one, and have often found we are just gelling and getting things happening when the elections come around again.

The only possible drawback is, as mentioned above, replacing members who can't complete their term for any reason. It will be critical to maintain a quorum and there is usually attrition, with more expected over the longer time frame. The immediate solution that springs to mind is that next ranked in the voting could be named as stand-by members. They would probably need to be kept abreast of the AEC's progress to be able to step in. One solution in the past has been for Trustees to step in when AEC membership slipped, however they are all extremely busy in their own ways and that should be a last resort.

cheers,
Jess
A new workshop on the most important element of poetry-
'Rhythm and Meter in Poetry'
https://www.neopoet.com/workshop/rhythm-and-meter-poetry

Jess,

I agree 100% with your comment and hope any future AEC has the dedication and motivation to complete a six month term without needing to impose on the trustees, who, as you rightly said, are busy people.

As soon as I became AEC chair, I got the team together to make a list of important items we wanted to achieve in our term. I am pleased to say other than one item which I will get to, we did indeed achieve the goals in three months, but it was tough going.